Collection SCA413-GA481 - Municipal council of the town of Berlin.

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Municipal council of the town of Berlin.

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title supplied by creator.

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1909 (Photography)

Physical description area

Physical description

1 photograph : b&w, sepia toned ; 33 x 41 cm on mount 48 x 56 cm

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Custodial history

Scope and content

One photograph mounted on cardboard of the Municipal Council of the town of Berlin, dated 1909. The black and white photograph shows 15 adults dressed in suits and posed seated or standing in front of an ornately painted backdrop.

  • Back row, from left to right is Edwin Whyte Clement, F. W. Sheppard, Joseph Roman Winterhalt, and Frederich “Frederick” Bornhold.
  • Middle row from left to right is Charles Boehmer Dunke, William Daum Euler, William Robert Wilkinson, Alexander Hugh Millar, H. Martin, and John R. Schilling.
  • Front row from left to right is reeve David Gross Jr. (George “David" Gross), third deputy reeve Henry Anthony Dietrich, Mayor Charles Casper Hahn who served from 1909 to 1910, second deputy reeve John F. McKay, and first deputy reeve Nicholas Asmussen.

Among the subjects are three individuals who would later serve as mayor of Berlin or Kitchener following its 1916 name change: William Daum Euler (1914-1917), David Gross Jr. (1917-1919), and Nicholas Asmussen (1925 -1926). William Daum Euler was also elected to the House of Commons of Canada (1917) and Nicholas Asmussen to the Legislative Assembly of Ontario (1919-1926). Both represented Waterloo North, Ontario in their Federal political office.

Notes area

Physical condition

Some damage to the mount in the form of holes and tears along the side, and water damage spots on bottom of mount.

Immediate source of acquisition

Donated in 2008.


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Public domain.

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


General note

Several members of this photograph were featured in Berlin Celebration of Cityhood 1912:

  • Charles C. Hahn, listed among previous Mayors of Berlin

  • Members of the Council City of Berlin 1912 included: Jos. Winterhalt, C.B. Dunke, J.R. Schilling, E.W. Clement. W.D. Euler Reeve, D. Gross Jr., N. Asmussen, and H.A. Dietrich.

  • Edwin Whyte Clement, a lawyer at Clement and Clement, Barristers, Solicitors, etc.

  • Joseph Roman Winterhalt, a cigar manufacturer.

  • Alexander Hugh Millar [sic], a city clerk.

  • David Gross Jr., the co-proprietor of the Gross Garage & Electrical Co.

  • John F. McKay, Chairman of the Board of Health.

Signatures note

Typed, recto of mount, top centre: Municipal Council of the Town of Berlin, 1909

Signatures note

Typed, recto of mount, bottom centre: E. W. Clement F. W. Sheppard J. Winterhalt F. Bornhold / C. B. Dunke W. D. Euler W. R. Wilkinson A. H. Millar Clerk H. Martin J. R. Schilling / D Gross Jr. Reeve H. A. Dietrich 3rd Dep[uty] Reeve C. C. Hahn Mayor J. F. McKay 2nd Dep[uty] Reeve N. Asmussen 1st Dep[uty] Reeve

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Described by TH 2022.
Reviewed by CGD in July 2022.

Language of description

  • English

Script of description


Berlin Celebration of Cityhood 1912 in the University of Waterloo Library Catalogue. Call number: H3126
Senator William Daum Euler, MP Waterloo Region Generations
Mayor Nicholas "Nick" Asmussen Waterloo Region Generations

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres