File 9 - Canadian Women's Press Club, Vancouver Island Branch: 1960s

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Canadian Women's Press Club, Vancouver Island Branch: 1960s

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1957-1970 (Creation)
    Women's Press Club of Toronto

Physical description area

Physical description

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The Canadian Women's Press Club was founded in 1904 by a group of Canadian woman reporters returning from a complimentary trip to the St. Louis Exposition. The club was suggested by George Henry Ham, the CPR's publicity director, and the first president was Kathleen Blake "Kit" Coleman. The Toronto Branch was founded in 1909, one of 15 regional branches organized over the years. Established as a "craft club" to help and promote its members in the profession of journalism, the Club remained active until the 1990's, counting as members most Canadian women journalists of note. In 1971 the Canadian Women's Press Club became the Media Club of Canada, and the Toronto Branch of the Club became the Media Club of Canada, Toronto Branch. In 1976 the Toronto Branch became an autonomous group under the name Toronto Women's Press Club, later changed to the Women's Press Club of Toronto. The Toronto Branch ceased in 199? and the Media Club of Canada suspended operations in 199?

By the 1980's the Women's Press Club of Toronto had launched a history project and put Kay Rex, a long-time member, in charge of collecting materials and writing a history of the Canadian Women's Press Club to 1971. Her book No Daughter of Mine: The Women and History of the Canadian Women's Press Club, 1904-1971 was published in 1995 by the University of Toronto Press.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Scrapbook compiled by the Vancouver Island Branch of the C. W.P. C. Items contained in this scrapbook include clippings, photographs, correspondence, notes, programs, a statement of account, a cheque, a Treasurer's Report, and ephemera and relate primarily to the activities and events of the Vancouver Island Branch of the C. W.P.C during the 1960s.
The main subject areas or themes covered by materials in this folder are as follows: (1) Meetings of the Vancouver Island Branch of the C. W.P.C. Many of the reports on these meetings include information on the appointment of new officers including new branch presidents or information on talks given by guest speakers at these meetings; (2) Materials relating to the opening of an account by the C. W.P. C Vancouver Island Branch in 1957. ( 3) Activities and trips made by the Vancouver Island Branch of C. W.P.C including a trip made by Nona Damaske to Honolulu in 1962; (4) Wedding, retirement announcements, and obituaries of Vancouver Island Branch C. W.P.C and other C. W.P.C members; (5) Articles about prominent C. W.P.C members including Pat Dufour, who had a Navy League Unit named for her, Muriel Wilson, who served as branch president and was a famous food columnist, and Elizabeth Forbes, who ran as a Liberal candidate in the Victoria provincial election campaign. An article on Eugenie L. Myles, author of stories of pioneer life who received an award for her work also appears in this scrapbook, as well as an article on Mildred E. Jeffrey, who was women's editor of The Columbian, and National Vice-President of the C. W.P. C and member of the Vancouver Branch. Ms. Jeffrey was also the first woman to be accepted as a member of the Public Relations Society of B. C. Also includes articles about Helen Mitchell who became branch president in 1966. (6) Articles written by members of the Vancouver Island Branch of the C. W.P.C including Doris Leedham Hobbs, Nona Damaske, and Elizabeth Forbes. (7) Bursaries awarded by the Vancouver Island Branch of the C. W.P.C. (8) Visits by National Presidents to the Vancouver Island Branch of the C. W.P.C. This includes a visit by Simonne Daigneault in 1964 and by Elva Fletcher in 1967; (9) C. W.P.C tour of Eastern Europe in 1966; (10) Visit of foreign journalists to C. W.P.C in Victoria in 1967 as part of the club's Centennial Project; (1 I) Triennial C. W.P.C conference in Vancouver in 1968.

Notes area

Physical condition

Oversized scrapbook.

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres